Published on August 30, 2017 1:06 am

27 VFL Women in State of Origin clash

The inaugural NAB AFLW State of Origin game takes place this Saturday night at Etihad Stadium, and there is a wealth of Swisse Wellness VFL Women’s talent that will be on show.

27 VFL Women’s listed players have been selected for the match. For the Victorian team, 21 of the 22 selected are currently plying their trade in the Swiss Wellness VFL Women’s, while the Allies have six representatives, as Mitch Wynd reports.

Melbourne University and Darebin lead the way in terms of players selected with seven, followed by Eastern Devils with four.

The match scheduled for 7:40PM on September 2 will be played on the weekend where the AFL takes the week off for the pre-finals bye, with the VFL Women’s finalists also having a bye.

All eyes will be on Etihad Stadium to watch the very best female players pull on the ‘Big V’ and the Allies colours.

Players such as Daisy Pearce, Katie Brennan, Tayla Harris, and Sabrina Frederick-Traub are just some of the players that have been selected.

Unfortunately AFLW stars Darcy Vescio and Erin Phillips will not be available for the match due to injury and overseas commitments respectively, while Lauren Pearce, Jasmine Grierson and Hannah Scott have been late withdrawals as well.

The Victorian team will be coached by Debbie Lee, who currently coaches VU Western Spurs in VFL Women’s, while Bec Goddard, the very first AFLW premiership coach, will take charge of the Allies.

Lee is very excited to be coaching the Victorian team.

“It’s great to see the tradition of State of Origin football continued. It has always been revered by football supporters and the women’s match will be no different,” she said.

“Following the success of the NAB AFL Women’s season I would encourage all footy fans to come along and watch.

“Playing the match at Etihad Stadium will allow football supporters to see the best of the best and it will be a highlight of the Celebration of Football week.”

Entry is free Saturday night, with game also to be shown on Channel 7. It will be the perfect way to showcase up to 22 players that will take part in the 2017 VFL Women’s finals starting on September 10 at Coburg’s Piranha Park.

Details HERE




  • Lauren Arnell (Carlton)
  • Jess Dal Pos (GWS)
  • Karen Paxman (Melbourne)
  • Melissa Hickey (Melbourne)
  • Daisy Pearce (Melbourne)


  • Alison Downie (Carlton)
  • Steph Chiocci (Collingwood)


  • Sarah Perkins (Adelaide)
  • Jamiee Lambert (Collingwood)
  • Sarah D’Arcy (Collingwood)


  • Lily Mithen (Melbourne)


  • Kaitlyn Ashmore (Brisbane)
  • Nicola Stevens (Carlton)
  • Alicia Eva (GWS)
  • Ellie Blackburn (Western Bulldogs)
  • Emma Kearney (Western Bulldogs)
  • Mo Hope (Collingwood)
  • Lauren Spark (Western Bulldogs)


  • Sarah Hosking (Carlton)


  • Brianna Davey (Carlton)
  • Jasmine Garner (Collingwood)




  • Bianca Jakobsson (Melbourne)


  • Ebony Marinoff (Adelaide)
  • Elise O’Dea (Melbourne)
  • Katie Brennan (Western Bulldogs)


  • Emma King (Collingwood)


  • Tayla Harris (Carlton)

Naming Rights

Official Partners

Official Licencee / Supplier