Published on December 22, 2017 10:32 am


The 2018 fixture has now been released for AFL Victoria’s Swisse Wellness VFL Women’s competition.

The revamped competition will see Darebin Falcons, Geelong Cats and Melbourne Uni joined by Casey Demons, Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, Hawthorn (formerly Box Hill Hawks), NT Thunder, Richmond, Southern Saints (St Kilda/Frankston), Western Bulldogs (VU Western Spurs) and Williamstown in 2018.

In its third year, the competition will start on the weekend of May 5 and 6, featuring 13 teams across a 16-round season. Each club will have two byes, plus a competition-wide bye on the Queen’s Birthday weekend.

With the addition of NT Thunder, six clubs will make the journey to either Darwin or Alice Springs to meet the first-ever interstate VFL Women’s team. Essendon will be the first club to head interstate (Round 3), followed by Western Bulldogs (Round 5), Collingwood (Round 8), Geelong (Round 9), Casey Demons (Round 12) and Hawthorn (Round 15).

The opening round will see reigning premier Darebin welcome NT Thunder to VFL Women’s, while Southern Saints will host Carlton (in Frankston), Collingwood will meet Williamstown in Oakleigh as part of a TAC Cup Girls double-header, Western Bulldogs play Richmond and Essendon will face Hawthorn – all Saturday games. The round will be completed on the Sunday with Geelong meeting Melbourne Uni.

Casey Demons will have to wait till Round 2 to start their first VFL Women’s campaign, with former Melbourne player Colin Garland to coach the Demons against Hawthorn. Garland is one of a number of new coaches, joining Scott Gowans at Melbourne Uni, Brendan Major moves to Essendon, Penny Cula-Reid will lead Collingwood and Amy Catterall joins Williamstown.

Fans will be able to experience a double dose of VFL action regularly in 2018, with 35 double-header games planned across the season, featuring Peter Jackson VFL and VFL Women’s matches.

There will be plenty of talent on show in the VFL Women’s competition in 2018, with 109 VFL Women’s players from 2017 currently on AFLW lists.

A three-week finals series will begin on the weekend of September 8 / 9 before the Grand Final on the weekend of September 22 / 23.


* CLICK HERE to see the 2018 Swisse Wellness VFL Women’s fixture.


All TBC fixtures will be updated in the new year

Naming Rights

Official Partners

Official Licencee / Supplier