Published on September 17, 2017 5:53 pm

Mitch Wooffindin celebrates a crucial final-term goal for Port Melbourne in the Preliminary Final


Port Melbourne will take on Richmond in the 2017 Peter Jackson VFL ‘Love the Game’ Grand Final after defeating Williamstown by 23 points in today’s Preliminary Final.

The Borough led from start to finish in their 251st clash with great rivals the Seagulls and will now seek to claim their first VFL premiership since 2011 when they meet the Tigers next Sunday September 24 from 3pm at Etihad Stadium.

Both Grand Finalists have played in each week of the finals, with Port Melbourne losing its first final to the Box Hill Hawks before defeating Footscray and now Williamstown, while Richmond continued its run from fifth position after the home-and-away season by backing up victories over Collingwood and then the Casey Demons with a big win against the Hawks yesterday. CLICK HERE to read the recap of Saturday’s Preliminary Final.

Earlier on Sunday in the last AFL Victoria Development League Grand Final, the Casey Demons triumphed over Williamstown by 12 points in a thrilling contest at Fortburn Stadium. Casey’s Yilber Zijai won the Fred Hill Memorial Medal as best-on-ground in the match, with his team claiming its first Development League premiership since changing its name from Springvale in 2006. CLICK HERE to see the full match result, goalkickers and best players from this game.


PORT MELBOURNE 12.10 (82) d WILLIAMSTOWN 8.11 (59)

Port Melbourne advanced to its first VFL Grand Final since a losing effort in 2012 by overwhelming Williamstown inside and outside the contest at Fortburn Stadium. The Borough made the Seagulls look uncharacteristically shaky in the first term, keeping the minor premiers goalless and opening up a defining 24-point lead at quarter time as midfielders Tom O’Sullivan and Shannen Lange got on top in close.

Williamstown responded with three goals to one in the second stanza to reduce the margin to 13 points at half time, but Port Melbourne controlled the ball in space in the third term, with Khan Haretuku and Chris Cain both slotting their third majors to send the Borough into the last change with a 31-point advantage.

Despite some nervous moments as the Seagulls moved to within 19 points early in the final quarter, a spectacular Mitch Wooffindin snap goal gave Port Melbourne a lead too big for Williamstown to overcome.

Leading goalkickers: Port Melbourne – Haretuku 3, Cain 3 / Williamstown – Siposs 2, Dunell 2

* CLICK HERE for play-by-play scores from this game


* CLICK HERE for the full match result, goalkickers and best players

Naming Rights

Official Partners

Official Licencee / Supplier