Published on April 24, 2018 4:39 pm

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 16: during the 2017 VFL Development League Young Guns match between Team A and Team B at Fortburn Stadium on September 16 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Dodge/AFL Media)

Young Guns Series squads announced

The best emerging talent in the Peter Jackson VFL will be on show in the upcoming AFL Victoria Young Guns Series.

The initial squads have been named for the three-game series – which will begin on May 5 – featuring players from all 15 VFL clubs and a number of TAC Cup 19-year-old players. Coburg is the best represented club with seven players in the initial squad, followed by North Melbourne with six and Casey Demons and Northern Blues with five each.

The series focuses on players 21 and under and will provide chances for squad members to further develop their game and showcase their skills in front of AFL recruiters. As the series progresses, there will be an opportunity to add talented community footballers to the squads.

The new Young Guns program will be overseen by VFL coaching games record holder Gerard FitzGerald, who brings 21 years of state-league football experience at VFL (North Ballarat, Casey, Port Melbourne) and TAC Cup (GWV Rebels) level to the role.

“The annual Young Guns game has developed into an important match over the years to provide added exposure for the players selected, and has been recognised in the football landscape as a must-see game,” FitzGerald said.

“This year we have expanded the program with the aim to keep players engaged and on the radar of AFL clubs, as they continue to develop and progress.”

Priority in the Young Guns series will be given to players who are yet to play regular senior VFL football, ahead of members of the squad already earning regular VFL selection.

FitzGerald will not only support the players in the program, but play a role in assisting the coaching groups that have been established.

Dandenong Stingrays Josh Bourke and Port Melbourne’s Trent McMicking have been selected to lead each team, with support from Scott McDougall (Gippsland Power), Darryl Wilson – (Former Bendigo Bombers/Strathfieldsaye Football Club Coach), Ross Gemmill (Frankston), Peter Mongta (Gippsland Power), Tom Curran (Coburg), Mark Wheatley (Casey Demons) and Luke Daffy (Geelong Falcons).

“We have done our best to recognise staff who we think have put some hard yards in and have the potential to progress and have a role at a higher level, like it has with the players,” FitzGerald said.

All three matches will be played as curtain raisers to VFL games.

  • Saturday, May 5 at 2.00PM, Avalon Airport Oval (prior to Werribee versus Collingwood, 5pm)
  • Saturday, May 26 at 11.00AM, North Port Oval (prior to Port Melbourne versus Casey Demons, 2pm)
  • Saturday, June 30 at 11.00AM, North Port Oval (prior to Port Melbourne versus Sandringham, 2pm).


First Name Surname Club
Nathan Boucher Box Hill Hawks Football Club
Ned Reeves Box Hill Hawks Football Club
Geordie Nagle Box Hill Hawks Football Club
Tom Freeman Casey Demons Football Club
Kieran Byers Casey Demons Football Club
Aiden Quigley Casey Demons Football Club
Mykelti Lefau Casey Demons Football Club
Julian Patterson Casey Demons Football Club
Jackson McDonald Coburg Football Club
Damon Cramer Coburg Football Club
Max Mitchell-Russell Coburg Football Club
Harrison Nolan Coburg Football Club
Lachlan Mitchell Coburg Football Club
Jake Page Coburg Football Club
Nick Dodge Coburg Football Club
Callan Wellings Collingwood Football Club
Jack Roughsedge Collingwood Football Club
Daniel Stanford Collingwood Football Club
Sam Ralph Collingwood Football Club
Kalan Huntly Essendon Football Club
James Peters Essendon Football Club
Joel Ottavi Essendon Football Club
Edyn Sibbald Essendon Football Club
Cody Henness Footscray Football Club
Corey Rich Frankston Football Club
Jack McHale Frankston Football Club
Mitch McCarthy Frankston Football Club
Aiden Domic Geelong Football Club
Lochlan Dhurrkay Geelong Football Club
David Handley Geelong Football Club
Louis Cunningham North Melbourne Football Club
Fraser Cameron North Melbourne Football Club
Liam Whelan North Melbourne Football Club
Nick Hogan North Melbourne Football Club
Quintin Montanaro North Melbourne Football Club
Brandon Ryan North Melbourne Football Club
Ethan Penrith Northern Blues Football Club
Jordan Johnston Northern Blues Football Club
Alex Federico Northern Blues Football Club
Sam Fisher Northern Blues Football Club
Matthew Harman Northern Blues Football Club
Campbell Walker Port Melbourne Football Club
Ethan Phillips Port Melbourne Football Club
Matthew King Port Melbourne Football Club
Charlie Thompson Richmond Football Club
Hayden McLean Sandringham Football Club
Jackson Hille Sandringham Football Club
Cassidy Parish Werribee Football Club
Keegan Gray Werribee Football Club
Cooper Stephens Williamstown Football Club
Tom Schnerring Williamstown Football Club

Naming Rights

Official Partners

Official Licencee / Supplier